The Inaugural Meeting of the 9th Governing Council of Kogi State Polytechnic was held on Wednesday, 24th March, 2021, and with promises and assurances to further promote the institution, renewed commitment to instill character and learning on students and a better life for members of Staff.

The meeting which was the 63rd in the Polytechnic’s Regular record, took place at the Council Chambers of the main campus, and was presided over by the Chairman, Dr. Yakubu Isa.

Dr. Isa stressed the importance of Polytechnic education, which he said serves as a veritable means of acquiring functional knowledge and inculcation of proper value orientation for the survival of individuals and society, in addition to providing training, research and development techniques.

He said the Polytechnic was lucky to have an assemblage of technocrats as members of her Council, whom he stressed, would strive towards making it more enviable among comity of institutions of higher learning.

While soliciting the cooperation of all members and the Polytechnic community, Dr. Isa called for the peace and good working relationship already existing in the Polytechnic to be sustained.

In his remark, the Rector of Kogi State Polytechnic, Dr Salisu Ogbo Usman, declared that the appointments and inauguration of the Governing Council was well deserved and timely, as it would enable the institution to reach its expected level.

He thanked His Excellency, the Executive Governor of Kogi State, Alhaji Yahaya Adoza Bello for his choice of the governing council members.

Dr. Usman said that despite coming on board at the time of austerity which was occasioned by the nationwide lockdown necessitated by Covid 19 pandemic, the Management of the institution had been able to steer the ship of the institution to the admirable level.

While assuring Council of the Management’s total cooperation and support, the Rector hoped that the inaugural meeting would be the beginning of more rewarding relationship between Council and Management and in the overall interest of Kogi State Polytechnic.

The Governing Council of Kogi State Polytechnic has 19 members with Dr. Yakubu Isa as Chairman.

The external members of the body are Professor Rachael Gbekele Ayo, Head of Science, Samaru College of Agriculture, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Dr. Lawal Anako Opotu, Director, Polytechnic Advancement, Kaduna Polytechnic, Dr. Jonathan Ocholi Okpanachi, a former Permanent Secretary, Dr. Friday Audu, Head, Accounting Department, Kogi State University, Anyigba, Dr. Abdul Rahmat Usman, Facilitator, National Teachers Institute.

Others are the Deputy Rector, Dr Kehinde Lamidi; Mr Idenyi Emmanuel Samson who is representing Ministry of Education, Science and Technology; Mr Abdul Ebiloma Bala from Establishment and Training, Office of the Head of Service and Engr. E. O. Audu from Ministry of Housing, Land and Urban Development.

The Council also has Obadiah Akpam Emmanuel (Esq) from Ministry of Justice, Mr Julius O. Justus, of the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development while Mr Yahaya J. Tajudeen is representing the National Board for Technical Education, (NBTE).

Dr. S. T. Olowo and Mr. John Friday Otaru represent the Academic Board of the institution, while Mrs. Elizabeth Abimaje and Engineer Abdulazeez Aliu Adavi are the representatives of the Polytechnic Assembly.

The Acting Registrar of Kogi State Polytechnic, Mr. I. O. Zubair Raji, is the Secretary to Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.